Gladstone Regional Group

Welcome to the Gladstone Regional Group Webpage


Central Region Engineering Conference

The 2014 Central Region Conference will be hosted by the Gladstone Regional Group on the 20 June 2014. The conference will lead discussion on the impacts of globalisation on the future of regional engineering.

Engineering plays a substantial role in the ongoing success our region. Over 40% of Gladstone's gross regional product comes from manufacturing, construction, mining and utilities supply.

The 2014 conference will cover these sectors under the theme of Regional Engineering in a Global Context. The topics to be discussed will include but not limited to:

  • Queensland 30 Year Plan
  • Global Economics
  • The Energy Market
  • Globalisation of Engineering Design
  • Globalisation of Construction

For more information, click here

Previous newsletter

The Gladstone Regional Group newsletter is sent out on a three monthly basis to provide an overview of activities and progress within the region.

Please send your comments or enquiries via email to: Gladstone Regional Group MailBox

Contacts

Gladstone Regional Group
PO Box 1118
Gladstone DC, QLD 4680

Position Name Email address
Chair Paul Green Paul.G.Green@bigpond.com
Secretary Russell Jorgensen ea@rusteze.net
Treasurer Andrew Hopkinson hopkinsona@qal.com.au
Member Malcolm Leinster malcolm.leinster@tpg.com.au
Member Richard Furness furnessr@qal.com.au
Member Mark Porter mark.porter@bigpond.com
Member Rob Dunnett dunnettr@qal.com.au
Member Ben Hayden bhayden@nrggos.com.au
Member Deon Van der Merwe dvandermerwe@qer.com.au
Member Cameron Black blackc@qal.com.au
Member Chris McCarthy cbmccart@bechtel.com
Member Joshua Worley jworley@nrggos.com.au
Member Kevin O'Malley

kevomalley2000@yahoo.co.uk

Member Kris Zhan kris.zhan@aurecongroup.com
Member Lee Warren warrenl@gpcl.com.au
Young Engineers Representative Matthew Le Lacher lelacheurm@qal.com.au
Women in Engineering Representative Ellen Terry e.terry@alphaconcepts.net.au
Web Coordinator Ashfaque Chowdhury a.chowdhury@cqu.edu.au

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gladstone Student Science and Maths Challenge

The Gladstone Science and Maths Challenge is held annually and is run by a group of Scientists, Engineers and Teachers.

Students nominate to undertake a project in groups of up to six students over three days. Each group includes at least one mentor from the industry and a teacher.

This year around 30 students participated, with nearly as many mentors, teachers and support people.

Each group gave a seven minute presentation about their project.

The projects that were undertaken were:

  • Chemical Whodunit
  • Microprocessor Controller
  • Sustainable House (Mathematics)
  • Solar Thermal Power
  • Cogeneration
  • Bridge Construction

The challenge succeeds due to the support of many local companies and individuals and of course the minds of students and where they can take them!!

Gladstone Regional Individual Awards - 1 November 2013

The 2013 Individual Awards were held at the Harvey Road Tavern on Friday 1st November.

The award winners were judged on a criteria which included but was not limited to:

  • Base level formal engineering skills – diploma, degree, masters, PhD
  • Formal skills acquired in related areas - MBA, business, related discipline, law
  • Demonstrated continued professional development
  • Participation in Engineers Australia and/or Community groups
  • Communication skills

Awards and Commendations

  • Professional Engineer of the Year
    Peter Smith - Aurecon Group
  • Engineering Technologist of the Year
    Errol Milevskiy - MIPEC
  • Young Professional Engineer of the Year
    Celisa Faulkner - Gladstone Regional Council
  • Highly Commended in Young Professional of the Year Category
    Joshua Worley - NRG

    

    

More photos from the Awards night can be found here.

The Gladstone Individual Awards is proudly organised by the Gladstone Regional Group of Engineers Australia with the help of the following supporters:

                

 

 

 
Technical Societies     Committees & Panels