Nuclear Engineering Panel (NEP)

The Sydney branch of Engineers Australia established a Nuclear Engineering Panel of eminent engineers and advisers in 1975 to provide advice and information in the area of nuclear engineering and science.

The role of the Nuclear Engineering Panel has developed to include

  • a focus within Engineers Australia for discussion and provision of information on nuclear issues in Australia
  • provision of advice to Engineers Australia to assist in the development of policy in the nuclear field
  • holding regular technical meetings for engineers and other professionals
  • support for conferences and meetings on nuclear issues in the wider technical community and
  • preparation of submissions to inquiries or other discussion forums and field

Further information on the work of the Nuclear Panel can be obtained from the honorary secretary, Dr Don Higson by e-mail to [email protected]

Nuclear Engineering Panel Committee

Tony Irwin B.Eng (Hons) MIET FIEAust CPEng


Tony Irwin is a Chartered Engineer who worked for British Energy (formerly the Central Electricity Generating Board) in the UK for more than thirty years commissioning and operating eight nuclear power reactors. Following the Chernobyl accident he was a member of a World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO) mission that reviewed operating practices at Russian RMBK reactors. In 1999 he moved to Australia and joined the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) and was Reactor Manager during the construction and operation of the OPAL research reactor. Since retiring from ANSTO in late 2009, he is a visiting lecturer for the Master of Nuclear Science course at the ANU. Tony is the Chairman of the Engineers Australia Nuclear Engineering Panel.

Contact[email protected]

Don Higson BSc, PhD, FARPS, FIEAust


Don Higson has a PhD in chemical engineering and came to Australia in 1964 to join the Australian Atomic Energy Commission (now ANSTO), where he specialised in nuclear reactor safety assessment. He is a Fellow of Engineers Australia; a Fellow, Life Member and former Secretary of the Australasian Radiation Protection Society (ARPS); a former Vice President of the Australian Nuclear Association; and a member of the International Nuclear Energy Academy. He founded the ARPS Newsletter in 1995, after his retirement from ANSTO, and was editor for 10 years. He has worked as a consultant to the International Atomic Energy Agency on nuclear safety and safeguards..

Contact[email protected]

Committee Members

  • John Harries, PhD, FAIP
  • Martin Thomas
  • Neil McDonald
  • Peter Bullard
  • John Harries
  • Barrie Hill BE MIPENZ, MIMechE, FIEAust, RE(Qld)
  • Alex Borovskis
  • Chris Skinner
  • Anna Paradowska
  • Deon Rowley FIEAust, CPEng