Australian Engineering Excellence Awards 2020 finalists announced

Each AEEA 2020 finalist is a testament to engineering in Australia. Find out which projects are in the running and when your local virtual awards ceremony is happening.
News Image
Australian Engineering Excellence Awards 2020 logo

The finalists for the 2020 Australian Engineering Excellence Awards have been announced this week, concluding a lengthy and thorough process that was undertaken throughout Australia.

The AEEAs are awarded bi-annually to projects that contribute to social and/or economic outcomes and represent excellence in engineering. A broad range of engineering disciplines and projects are represented within the 2020 finalists, a testament to the work completed by engineers in Australia over the last two years.

Individual Projects from all nine locations will be selected to win AEEA awards, with each division selecting one of these winners to represent their location as a finalist for the Sir William Hudson Award – the highest honour for a project awarded by Engineers Australia.

The winners of the AEEAs, as well as the Professional & Young Professional Engineer of the Year Awards for each division will be announced at a series of virtual presentations taking place in September. At these presentations we will also announce each division’s finalist for the national Sir William Hudson Award.

Engineers Australia CEO Bronwyn Evans congratulated all of this year’s nominees.
“The Australian Engineering Excellence Awards allow us to celebrate outstanding achievements in engineering and showcase the winning projects’ innovations and use of ground-breaking technology and techniques,” Evans said.

“Though varied, each of these projects demonstrates the profound impact engineering has on society and strives to make positive changes to our everyday lives. Congratulations to all 2020 AEEA finalists.”

View the full list of finalists on the AEEA website here.



Registrations for each division’s virtual award ceremonies listed below will open in August.

Canberra and Sydney
Monday 14 September, 12.00pm AEST

Monday 14 September, 1.00pm AEST

Western Australia
Tuesday 15 September, 12.00pm AWST

Tuesday 15 September, 12.00pm AEST

South Australia
Wednesday 16 September, 1.00pm ACST

Wednesday 16 September, 12.00pm AEST

Thursday 17 September, 12.00pm AEST

Northern Territory
Thursday 17 September, 12.30pm ACST