Recognising our Members in Western Australia

The end of year sundowner at Beaumonde on the Point on 8 December was a cause for celebration as we recognised a number of members for their significant contributions to the profession and the community.
News Image

The end of year sundowner at Beaumonde on the Point on 8 December was a cause for celebration as we recognised the following WA members for their significant contributions to the profession and the community.

The Engineers Australia medal is given to recipients who demonstrate meritorious service at the divisional level in the pursuit of Engineers Australia’s goals in the interests of the profession.

The award recognises the efforts of engineers who have provided conspicuous service to Engineers Australia and its goals in a local context.

The 2020 recipients are:

Andrew Yuncken HonFIEAust CPEng(Ret) for his notable length of service to Engineers Australia. His numerous roles have included President, member of the Electrical panel since 1985 and Chartered Engineer Professional Interview Panel Member on a consistent basis for over 10 years.

Lorie Jones FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus) for her active role on the College of Leadership and Management (CLM) Board and WA CLM committee.  Also a Past President, Lorie has put in an inordinate amount of time working across CLM, the Sustainable Engineering Society, the WA Division Committee and a number of university representatives as we explored climate change from an engineering perspective, culminating in a series of workshops and online webinars.

Geoff Boughton AM FIEAust CPEng NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus) for his extra-ordinary achievements!  He features in the Centenary book of 100 Australian Engineering Leaders (of all time) and on Australia Day 2020 was awarded Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to engineering and professional bodies. Geoff has actively supported Engineers Australia throughout his career and has been a valued member of the Structures Panel in WA. He has provided pro-bono academic and practical supervision for several undergraduate and post-graduate engineering students, who have appreciated his encouragement, expertise, enthusiasm and approachable manner.


Presented by the Environmental College, the Young Environmental Engineer of the Year award  acknowledges and rewards young environmental engineers who, amongst other criteria, demonstrate leadership skills including leadership of teams,  positive/notable outcomes from their engineering work and community service to industry, the profession and/or society.

The 2020 recipient Tom Wheeler GradIEAust is the Manager of Waste Services for the Shire of East Pilbara where he manages an operational expenditure account of over $4.5 million.  He led a partnership between the Shire of East Pilbara and Murdoch University to develop a detailed Water Balance that will utilise 100% of treated effluent from the Newman Wastewater Treatment Plant for irrigation of Newman’s parks, ovals and green spaces.

Tom and his team are developing numerous strategies for waste avoidance and resource recovery within the Pilbara, including a successful grant application from the Waste Authority to engage community members in adopting better waste management practices through a variety of tools translated into Martu Wangka, the language spoken by the Custodians of Newman.


Congratulations to Engineers Australia’s newest Fellows, EngExec and chartered members.


A Fellow of Engineers Australia is recognised as being amongst the true leaders of the industry and our profession.

Brian Lord

David McCoy

David Thomas

Farhad Shahnia

Jonathan Paxman

Kefyalew Mekonnen

Kennedy Machona

Kokming Kong

Nigel Wilmot

Philip Helberg

Simon Cockerill


Engineering Executive

The Engineering Executive (EngExec) post nominal recognises eminent individuals in leadership and management roles. The invitation only status immediately communicates the well-earned prestige of leaders at the highest tier of their industry.

Brett Darley

David McCoy

Greg Atkinson

Ksenija Stanic-Colic

Matteo Tirapelle

Shachar Marom


Chartered engineer

Becoming chartered is your ticket to being globally recognised and gaining a competitive edge in your career by showing commitment to the highest professional standards.


Aaron Wilesmith

Jason Lim

Aaron King

Jay Singh

Abbas Mohammed

Joan Lin

Adam Berry

Johannes van Heerden

Adam Kisiel

John Belford

Adrian Mills

John Cagney

Ali Sabouhi

John Kuruvilla

Allan Butler

John Park

Alvin Gadong

Jonathan Peachey

Amanda Kurts

Kai Wu

Amir Bashirzadeh Tabrizi    

Katherine Thompson

Andrew Glenn

Kaveh Soltaninaveh

Andrew Parsons

Keith Bradshaw

Ann Purchase

Khodr Kamal El Dine

Arran Melville

Lachlan McArthur-Gibbs

Ben Ladner

Mark Powell

Benjamin Reid

Mark Smith

Benjamin Wurfel

Mark Karslake

Benjamin Galvin

Matthew Holmes

Bertram Dantanarayana

Megan Lane

Boomirajan Sundharam

Michael Gill

Brad Smith

Ming Zhu

Bradley Cooper

Mitchell Austin

Bradley Cheaib

Mitchell Sherston

Brett Treacy

Morris Nash

Brian Town

Nerissa Lees

Bryan Minns

Nick Lowe

Chang Liu-Matthews

Nihal Kodituwakku

Chris Savietto

Paul Phillips

Christian Soetjipto

Paul Rackham

Christopher Newbold

Paul Buckley

Christopher Hardy

Peter Kirkpatrick

Colin Crowley

Reece McCorkindale

Craig May

Robert McCann

Daniel Simms

Robert Thompson

Daniel McCall

Ross Perrin

Daniel Wright

Ross Mitchell

Daniel van Tonder

Ryan Thiele

Daniel Williams

Scott Campbell

David Priddy

Scott Schluter

David Williams

Scott Austin

David Davidson

Sean Crockenberg

Dean Bromage

Shachar Marom

Dean Thompson

Shaune Guppy

Derek Heiden

Srikanth THELLA

Duan Seling

Stephen Bowley

Eva Martyniuk

Steven Hill

Farzad Habibbeygi

Steven Walczak

Garry Ross

Syed Zaidi

Gary Bithell

Ted Nguyen

George France Jr

Theo Lopido

Gerard Burke

Thomas Brzozowski

Gerhard Maritz

Timothy Van der Meer

Greg Fletcher

Trevor Shuh

Greg Slater

Troy Szann

Gurpreet Sardul Singh

Velayuthan Khokulan

Guy McShane

Venky Narayanaswamy

Ian Miles

Vishal Ramnarian

Ian Trinder

Willie Young

Jacob Birch

Zhilei Si

Jason Gill