Your 2021 Tasmanian Division Committee

In 2021 the Tasmanian Engineers Australia Division Committee will welcome several new members, each of which bring a unique and valuable set of skills and knowledge.
News Image
Stock image - meeting

The Committee’s key priorities for 2021 include:

  • Continuing to have a voice for key engineering issues in the state
  • Supporting our early career engineers
  • Promoting diversity and inclusion
  • Maintaining and growing our groups
  • Continuing to provide member value in creating a vibrant and diverse events calendar servicing all regions in the state.


Learn more about your new Committee members:



Tanya Denison FIEAust CPEng EngExec APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)

Tanya Denison

Tanya’s background is in planning and management roles in mining and civil construction, and more recently in leadership roles in organisations and local government. Tanya holds a Bachelor of Mining Engineering with Honours, a Master in Disaster Resilience and Sustainable Development, and the credential of EngExec.

In particular, Tanya hopes to contribute towards raising the profile and the status of the engineering profession.


Andrew Goldsworthy MIEAust

Andrew Goldsworthy

Andrew is skilled and passionate leader and people manager with 29 years’ experience in military, commercial and public service roles.  His extensive leadership and management experience includes managing teams in technical, sales, policy and regulatory roles, in private industry and government.

Andrew is currently the Director, Technical Regulation at the Department of Justice, where he has developed significant experience in stakeholder engagement and relationship management.


Max Moller FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)

Max Moller

Max is the Managing Director and Principal Hydraulic Engineer at Flüssig Spatial. With over 20 years’ experience as a Hydraulic, Civil and site engineer across a range of projects in Australia and overseas, Max has developed a varied and extensive career in engineering.

His fields of expertise cover Hydraulic and Civil Engineering, Flood and Water Engineering, and water sensitive urban designs, and his two main goals are to mentor young engineers and develop sustainable solutions to our water challenges.


Dr Ali Tolooiyan FIEAust CPEng NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)

Ali Tolooiyan

Dr Ali Tolooiyan is a senior lecturer in civil engineering at the University of Tasmania. Since completing his PhD in geotechnical engineering in Ireland in 2010, he has worked as a full-time academic as well as in collaboration with the Victorian and Tasmanian governments and several consulting companies and contractors in Australia and overseas.

Ali believes in the need for efficient collaboration and communication between Universities, communities, local industries and governments, to train and lead job-ready, young engineers who can tackle the existing and future real-world challenges.


These Committee members will join the following continuing members:

  • Kate McIntosh FIEAust CPEng NER (Incoming President – Tasmania)
  • Alex Taoum MIEAust CPEng NER (Deputy President)
  • David Finnigan FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus) (Outgoing President – Tasmania and National Congress Representative)
  • Professor Andrew Chan FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)
  • Phil Gee FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus) (Outgoing National Congress Representative)
  • Fiona Ling FIEAust CPEng NER
  • Phoebe Nash MIEAust NER
  • Kiril Tenekedjiev FIEAust.