Excellence awards program

Acknowledging and rewarding excellence.

Engineers Australia’s excellence awards program promotes the prestige of the practice of engineering while recognising the outstanding achievements of individual engineering professionals.

The awards program has a long history. First established more than 100 years ago, the program and its recipients form an important part of our organisation’s story.

Today, the excellence awards continue to honour the outstanding achievements of the country’s engineers across the broad categories of people and projects.

People awards

People awards acknowledge individual engineers for outstanding innovation and resourcefulness in their work. The engineer of the year awards recognise engineering professionals at all stages of their career. Six awards are available based on the three occupational categories.

Career achievement awards apply to individual engineering professionals at all career levels and across the occupational categories. There are 11 individual awards in this category mostly aligned to each of the engineering colleges.

Also in the people category are the distinguished career awards. This category contains three separate awards which recognise the conspicuous service of individuals who have given longstanding and prominent service to the profession.

Project awards

The project awards recognise Australia’s top engineering projects and the teams behind them. It inspires and encourages engineering distinction through teamwork, innovation and technical excellence.

Award nominations

Nominations for all award categories open on Tuesday 4 April. You'll be able to lodge a nomination from the relevant award page.

    Students, papers and scholarship awards

    Each year Engineers Australia recognises engineering students with a series of awards for students, papers and scholarships. Learn more about these awards.

    Award judges

    The people and project award winners are decided by a panel of judges selected by the Honours and Awards Committee. The committee is made up of representatives from each of Engineers Australia’s nine divisions and its engineering communities.

    The Honours and Awards Committee for 2023 is:

    • Chair - John McIntosh HonFIEAust CPEng EngExec NER
    • Deputy Chair - Dr Marlene Kanga AM HonFIEAust CPEng EngExec NER
    • Second Deputy Chair - Dr David Cruickshanks-Boyd HonFIEAust CPEng EngExec NER
    • Hon William Marmion HonFIEAust CPEng EngExec
    • Em.Prof John Wilson HonFIEAust CPEng EngExec NER