Distinguished career awards

Honouring lifelong career achievement.


These awards celebrate engineers who have achieved a lifetime of outstanding success in the profession and recognise their invaluable contributions to the engineering community. 

Nominations are open until Tuesday 2 July. 

Submit now

You’ll find everything you need to complete a nomination in the people awards handbook

We encourage nominees of all backgrounds and identities including people of all genders, those with disabilities, mature age and younger applicants, members of the LGBTQIA+ community, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and others who are culturally and racially marginalised. 

PNR Medal

This annual award, named in honour of Sir Peter Nicol Russell, a 19th century Sydney industrialist who supported engineering initiatives in Australia, stands as the pinnacle of recognition bestowed by Engineers Australia.

Recipients of this award embody:

  • The utmost standards of technical proficiency, professional excellence and dedication to community service within engineering.
  • Exceptional leadership and managerial expertise, serving as exemplary figures within the engineering profession.
  • The profound and far-reaching impacts of engineering through their significant contributions.

Winners are presented the PNR Memorial Medal and a framed certificate at an Engineers Australia award ceremony, commemorating their outstanding achievements and enduring legacy in the engineering profession.

Honorary Fellows

This esteemed honour elevates the recipient to the rank of Fellow of Engineers Australia, the highest credential within our membership.

The Honorary Fellows Award is conferred by the Board of Engineers Australia on individuals who have demonstrated:

  • Remarkable contributions or accomplishments within the engineering profession or related scientific fields.
  • Exemplary adherence to the highest technical, professional and community service standards in engineering.
  • Dedicated service to the Australian community, or in acknowledgment of exceptional achievements.

The President's Prize

The President's Prize is a prestigious annual accolade awarded to an individual or group that has provided distinct service to the engineering profession or the community. Their contributions must align with the strategic objectives of Engineers Australia.

Handpicked by Engineers Australia's National President, recipients are presented a framed certificate at an Engineers Australia award ceremony.

For more information about this award and the application process, contact us at [email protected]

Australian Honours

To increase recognition of the outstanding work of our members and awareness of the value of engineering, each year we nominate eminent Engineers Australia members for Australian Honours.

Overseeing the process is a Board-established Australian Honours Subcommittee whose purpose is to review, support and submit nominations.

The Australian Honours Subcommittee members are:

  • Hon William Marmion HonFIEAust CPEng EngExec – Chair (WA)
  • Alan Ainsworth FIEAust CPEng EngExec (QLD)
  • Yuna Chen FIEAust CPEng NER (NSW)
  • Ross Kristinof FIEAust CPEng NER (VIC)
  • Dr Derek Rogers FlEAust CPEng EngExec NER (SA)

If you have any questions or suggestions for outstanding engineers that deserve greater recognition, contact us at [email protected]