Michael Woodhouse Award

Start time; 4.00pm AEST. The Michael Woodhouse Award showcases work from Queensland's most promising future water engineers.
Michael Woodhouse Award

The Michael Woodhouse Award showcases work from Queensland's most promising future water engineers. 

Each year, undergraduate engineering students from Queensland universities who have undertaken research projects related to water engineering are invited to present their findings at the Michael Woodhouse event.

The Michael Woodhouse event involves undergraduate engineers exhibiting their work to practising industry representatives and fellow undergraduates. It is an online event with many students presenting works in progress which provide an opportunity for the audience to learn from and comment on academic research initiatives. It represents a chance for your university to showcase its research capabilities to members of the water engineering industry.

The winning students are awarded a bursary from the Michael Woodhouse Memorial Fund and have their name inscribed on the official Michael Woodhouse trophy.

Please note that students must be undergraduate independently undertaking a water engineering-related project at a Queensland University.


Submit Your Application

To apply for the Awards, please fill in the application form here and submit it to [email protected] by Friday 30 October.


About Michael Woodhouse

Michael Philip Woodhouse had a brief but distinguished career in the water engineering field since coming to Queensland after graduating from Monash University in 1977. 

He worked with skill and endeavor, establishing himself as an acknowledged expert in a number of aspects of water engineering.  His all-round knowledge and his ability to tackle difficult hydrological problems with innovative techniques gave him a national reputation in his field.

Woodhouse was a member of the Water Panel Committee from 1980 to 1986, was the Chairman in 1983, and filled the role of Past Chairman in 1984 and 1985.  

Michael was also secretary of the Water Engineering Technical Committee of ACADS (the Association for Computer-Aided Design) from its inception in 1977 and was enthusiastically involved with joint ACADS and Institution courses and workshops, both as an organizer and presenter.

Sadly, Michael died of cancer in March 1986 at the age of 32.

In recognition of Michael’s achievements and his efforts for the industry, the Water Panel constituted the Michael Woodhouse Memorial Prize. This prize awarded to the winning student research presentation to reflect on Michael’s efforts towards improved techniques in Water Engineering.


 Past Winners

1998 Russell Richards (Griffith)

1999 Steve Williams (Griffith)

2000 Bronwyn Bell (Griffith)

2001 Chantal Donnelly (UQ)

2002 Megan Streeter (JCU)

2003 Amanda Fell (JCU)

2004 Andrew Rumsby (JCU)

2005 Benjamin Tuesley (Griffith)

2006 Christopher Mills (UQ)

2007 Mina Tom (Griffith)

2008 James Allen (JCU)

2009 Daniel Grobbelaar (JCU)

2010 Duncan Ward (UQ)

2011 David Mohr (USQ)

2012  Liam Owen (USC)

2014 Lachlan Raso (Griffith)

2015 Jordan Andrews (USC)

2016 Andrew Lindsay (USC)

2017 Matthew Reimer (Griffith)

2018 Alex Caldwell (USC)

2019 Matthew McLoughlin (JCU)


18 / 11 / 2020 - 04:00 pm to 05:30 pm
Registration Closes
18 / 11 / 2020 04:00 pm
  • EA Member Rate: $0.00 ($0.00 excl. GST)
  • Society Member Rate: $30.00 ($27.27 excl. GST)
  • Student Member Rate: $0.00 ($0.00 excl. GST)
  • Non-Member Rate: $30.00 ($27.27 excl. GST)
Engineers Australia
Event Contact
Maximum CPD Hours