| 16 January 2023

Meet the 2023 YEA National Committee

Elected YEA committee members will work together volunteering their expertise and time to provide leadership in key areas including the overall governance and strategic direction of Engineers Australia for the benefit of young engineers.

Engineers Australia would like to welcome Steve Adamthwaite and Nicole Brown as Co-Chairs of the Young Engineers Australia National Committee (YEAN) in 2023. We also welcome new members Cindy Ng, Averil Astall, Allissa Li and Zoe Little and re-elected member Tino Baya, who joins continuing members Sam Chapman, Moin Rahman and Rob Hudson. Each new member will serve on the YEAN committee for two years. 

We also welcome Humza Tariq as a co-opted member onto the committee. Together, the committee will work to represent, support, empower and provide a voice for young engineers in Australia.  

This year, some of the committee’s top priorities will be to build a more diverse and engaged engineering cohort, to increase participation and awareness of the contribution of young engineers on a national and global scale and increase opportunities for young engineers to contribute to national conversations.    

Our diverse and passionate YEAN Committee in 2023 will continue to build the strong foundation built by our previous committee and continue to increase and broaden opportunities for all young engineers.  

We would like to thank the committee members whose terms ended in 2022 for their exceptional work on the YEAN committee: Adele Faraone and Tony Wilson. 

The 2023 committee welcomes members ideas on how to best serve the profession in the young engineers' community. Please contact them at [email protected] with suggestions or discussion points.