Queensland’s top engineers announced

Queensland’s top engineers have been named at the Engineers Australia - Queensland Division Engineering Excellence Awards.
News Image

Engineers Australia – Queensland General Manager, Stacey Rawlings, said the Engineer of the Year awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate the impact of local engineers.  

“The passion our winners and finalists have is reflected in the benefits their projects deliver to Queensland and their individual communities. They are all extremely active in giving back to, and promoting, the engineering profession. They are worthy role models who will inspire the next generation of Queensland engineers,” said Ms Rawlings.  

Award recipients

Cheryl Desha FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER – Professional Engineer of the Year

Cheryl Desha is Director for Industry Engagement in the School of Engineering and Built Environment at Griffith University, and Theme Leader of the Digital Earth and Resilient Infrastructure Research Group. Her school executive role builds on fifteen years of industry and academic practice and industry-led curriculum development, establishing the civil engineering program on Griffith University's Brisbane campus. She led the academic engagement for Griffith’s recently completed AUD$70 million six-storey building. 

Zoe Eather MIEAust CPEng NER – Young professional Engineer of the Year

Zoe Eather is an emerging leader with a passion for innovative and forward-thinking solutions for smart cities and transport planning. A civil and environmental engineer, she has established her own consultancy and engages with the wider engineering community through her podcast.  

Genevieve De Michele MIEAust – Young Professional Engineer of the Year – Highly Commended

Genevieve De Michele works extensively outside the general engineering field on projects such as Girls in Engineering Making statements (GEMS), and as a student mentor.  

The following finalists were also announced; Ashley Flower and Sandra Hinrichsen for Engineering Technologist of the Year, Damien Richards and Jason Price for Young Engineering Associate of the Year, Eddie O’Brien and Wade Godbee for Engineering Associate of the Year. Winners will be announced for these categories in February.  

The Australian Engineering Excellence Awards Program seeks to recognise and reward outstanding achievement in engineering. Regional winners in the main categories go on to represent their division at the national Awards in February.  

To view footage of the winners accepting their awards, visit the Engineer of the Year video gallery.

Image: Award winners holding certificates, left - Genevieve De Michele, middle - Zoe Eather, right - Cheryl Desha.

Media enquiries

Lisa McKoy
Engineers Australia National Media Manager
[email protected]
0468 366 691