Leaders of the Profession: Victoria

An introduction to the Victorian Division Committee

The role of the Victorian Division Committee is to provide leadership and direction consistent with Engineers Australia’s Strategic Priorities and to communicate, advocate, connect and promote the engineering profession across academia, government, industry and the wider community, and contribute to the best engineering outcomes that the profession can deliver for the benefit of the whole community. 


Grant Scott FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER

Director, KiStrategies

Grant is a chartered engineer and lawyer with extensive experience in the petroleum engineering, earth sciences, natural resources and environmental management sectors. He has successfully started, managed and grown a number of businesses and organisations and has developed an expansive network over a number of countries. Grant is also a Board member of the Chemical College and brings a high level of strategic experience to the Victorian Division. 


Astrid Kauffman

Deputy President:

Astrid Kauffman MIEAust CPEng NER
Manager, Risk and Industry Analysis, Major Transport Infrastructure Program

Astrid is a strategic decision and risk professional with experience across a range of industries including transport infrastructure, defence, information technology, emergency management and maritime and ports.


Peter Sokolowski

Deputy President:
Dr Peter Sokolowski FIEAust CPEng RPEQ SMIEEE

Research Fellow, RMIT University

Peter’s passion lies in education and research, providing the skills and culture necessary for the jobs of tomorrow through collaborating with industry and professional bodies for what the community needs both now and tomorrow, putting the future at heart so to position Australia for the generations ahead.



James "Hoody" Hood AM

James “Hoody” Hood AM FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER GAICD MAIPM CPPD
Air Commodore Director General Defence Aviation Safety Authority

Hoody is a highly regarded and decorated engineering leader in Defence excelling in strategic leadership, stakeholder relationships and innovation. He is also a Board member of the College for Leadership and Management and is passionate about the development of the next generation of engineering leaders.


Ross Kristinof

Ross Kristinof MIEAust CPEng RPEQ NER
Senior Geotechnical Engineer, FSG Geotechnics

Ross is a chartered geotechnical engineer with experience in infrastructure projects across Australia and New Zealand. Ross has a keen interest in professional standards, mentoring and policy development.


Dr Craig Watkins

Dr Craig Watkins FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER RPEQ MIEEE MIET
Telecommunications Systems Engineer

Craig is at heart a telecommunications engineer with a strong IT background, and substantial research passion. He also has significant systems engineering, construction, and space technology expertise.


Merrill Gray

Merrill Gray M.B.A., B.Eng.,B.Sc., FAusIMM, GAICD, MAIE, FIEAust

Executive Director- Wolf Advisory/Management Consulting & BioEnergy Enterprises Australia.

Merrill is an experienced Non-Executive and Executive Director and Corporate Advisor. Between 2006 and 2016 Merrill founded, ASX listed and was CEO/MD of a Utility scale Gasification (Syngas/Hydrogen) company and a spin-off embedded, co-generation Bioenergy company and held NED and Government advisory council roles in SA and Vic. During which time she successfully raised capital within the Australian and Global capital markets. She has worked on strategies and raised capital for other Energy, Mineral Resources and Next Gen Sustainability companies in CFO/Company Secretary and Corporate Advisory roles. Prior to her Start-up and Advisory roles Merrill spent 15 years in Operations, Production, Strategy and Transformation roles within large Net Asset based Mining companies. Recently Merrill has been working in integrated Energy-Waste-Water circular economy, sustainability solutions and Emerging energy technologies across Green Storage and Hydrogen, based on her multi-energy technology background and experience base.


Paul Jackson

Paul Jackson FIEAust CPEng NER

Paul Jackson is a Civil Engineer with over 22 years’ experience in the delivery and operation of major water infrastructure in Western Australia and Victoria. Having worked as a client, contractor, and currently as a consultant, he brings a breadth of understanding of the engineering industry. Paul’s career started in Perth with the Water Corporation in operational leadership and project leadership roles before moving to Melbourne in 2009. Notable achievements include four years as a Plant Manager at one of Perth’s major sewage treatment plants, Project Manager for a $147 million alliance and completing his MBA. Moving to his favourite city in the world in 2009, Paul was an Engineering Manager with John Holland, delivering a $115 million water recycling project before moving to regional Victoria with his wife in 2012 to start their family. Work brought Paul and his young family back to Melbourne, delivering trunk water mains and flood risk reduction projects for Melbourne Water and then delivery of a significant program of works for process, mechanical and electrical projects. Paul’s final move was to Beca in 2017, where he manages their Australian water business, tying together his experience as a client and contractor to develop sustainable solutions for clients. Working in the water industry, Paul is able to follow his two passions of developing people and developing sustainable solutions to our water challenges.

Amy Lezala FIEAust CPEng

Bing Li PhD FIEAust CPEng NER


Thank you to all outgoing committee members:

  • Peter Farley FIEAust CPEng EngExec
  • Guy Hodgkinson FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)
  • Benita Husband FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)

Your support and leadership, dedication and commitment to the profession is greatly appreciated.