Leaders of the Profession: Northern

An introduction to the Northern Division Committee

The role of the Sydney Division Committee is to provide leadership and direction consistent with Engineers Australia’s Strategic Priorities and to communicate, advocate, connect and promote the engineering profession across academia, government, industry and the wider community, and contribute to the best engineering outcomes that the profession can deliver for the benefit of the whole community. 


Chris Lugg


Sinead Redmond

Deputy President
Sinead Redmond

Sinead is an Environmental Engineer and accomplished agile accredited Project Manager with over 10 years’ experience and a proven track record in delivering projects within the infrastructure division.


Nathan Ting
Congress Representative




Grant Chorvat

Grant Chorvat

Grant Chorvat is the General Manager of Assets and Operations with Territory Generation, ans has held executive roles in Snowy Hydro, Hydro Tasmania and Territory Generation since 2006. Starting as an electrical engineering cadet with BHP Steel in 1977, he has considerable experience in automation and control projects, research & technology implementation and business management. As a passionate advocate for addressing global warming in a timely way, he is keenly interested in transitioning towards a Global Hydrogen Energy Economy.


Sumir Dhir

Sumesh Dhir

Sumesh is a Fellow Chartered Post Graduate Civil Engineer with 37 years experience  in both Public and Private Sector in Australia and South East Asian countries.   Sumesh  was awarded the Engineers Australia Northern Division  ‘Highly Commended - Professional Engineer of  the Year’  in 2012 and 2014.


Tim Duigan

Tim Duignan

Tim has more than 30 years’ experience in the electricity generation, retail, transmission and distribution sectors of the energy industry. He has held senior executive management roles in both private and publicly owned enterprises across all sectors of the electricity industry in Australia and Southeast Asia, and various Board positions in both domestic and international businesses.


Brian Forester


Elisha Harris

Elisha Harris

Elisha is a PhD-qualified structural engineer with 21 years of experience encompassing structural design, assessment and reporting, design management, project management, construction phase services, research and teaching.  She is also a director at Harris Kmon Solutions, an engineering and project management company which she established in mid-2015 along with a business partner.


Daniel Hill


Jacinta Kelly

Jacinta Kelly

Jacinta Kelly is a chartered structural engineer and certified practising project manager. She has been in the Northern Territory for her entire engineering career, working on major projects throughout the Northern Territory. She is currently the General Manager of local construction company Kalidonis.


Dave McHugh

David McHugh

David has over 40 years direct experience as Project Director on major NT and Commonwealth Government contracts and as a Senior Engineer and Project Director in the management of project implementation, design, documentation and procurement and construction delivery throughout the Northern Territory.

During his career David was Chief Executive Officer of the Department of Transport and Works and later the Department of Infrastructure. David was a past member of EA National Board, Civil College Board, Specialist Committees, National Congress and past NT EA President.



Ferozkhan Mohamed Ibrahim

Feroz is an Civil and Structural Engineer with 30 years experience, he migrated from India and has a Masters in Structural Engineering from QLD.  He has extensive experience in the Design and Construction which includes  Structural design of multistorey buildings, construction of Roads, Bridges and Buildings .

He has managed a lot of construction projects  in India and QLD.  He has managed few Road projects and few high level Bridges in the Territory. He is  Currently  a Senior project Manager with NT Government.  He was one of the Ambassadors  to Engineers Australia Convention in 2014  and is a Member of Engineers Australia since 2000.


Winifred Robertson



Colin Van Eck

Colin Van Eck

Colin is an registered Professional Electrical Engineer with more than 25 year experience in leading projects for commericial and government clients. Colin has experience in communications, security, lighting design and well as HV network design and government assets/ infrstructure and general power distribution. Colin is the NT ITEE Representative.