Professional standards library

Our professional standards library includes downloadable copies of the areas of practice, areas of engineering and member policies. 
Also included is information about assessment types and copies of the assessment competencies.

Use these documents for Chartered assessment.

Areas of practice

Engineers Australia | July 2022

Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum engineering deals with four main sub-disciplines which are reservoir, drilling, production, and formation evaluation engineering.

Engineers Australia | July 2022

Pressure equipment design verification

Pressure Equipment Design Verification deals with the process which assures the integrity of pressure vessels, boilers, pressure piping, and gas cylinders for the stated design and operating conditions.

Engineers Australia | July 2022

Project management

Project management deals with the discipline of initiating, planning, executing, controlling, and closing the work of a team to achieve specific goals and meet specific success criteria. 

Engineers Australia | July 2022

Risk engineering

Risk engineering deals with the effective and efficient application of engineering methodologies and approaches at every step of the risk management cycle, across strategic, operational, financial or portfolio/program/project objectives. 

Engineers Australia | August 2022

Structural Engineering

Structural engineering deals with the understanding, prediction, and calculation of the stability, strength and rigidity of built structures.

Use these documents for NER or State registration assessment.

Areas of engineering

No publications found.

Competency assessments are used to ensure engineering professionals who want to work within Australia meet the benchmarked qualifications and competency standards to practise.

Engineers Australia uses two sets of competency standards per occupational category. Each one is used for a different purpose.

Entry to practice

Entry to practice assessments (sometimes called stage 1) are used to assess some membership applications and some migrant skills assessment applications.

If you need to complete an entry to practice competency assessment, you’ll be assessed against the entry to practice competencies for your occupational category.

Download the entry to practice competency assessment documents for:

Independent practice

If you want to apply for a Chartered or NER credential you’ll be assessed using an independent practice assessment (sometimes called stage 2). You’ll be assessed against the 16 elements of competency that are related to your occupational category. These sit across four core areas:

  1. Personal commitment.
  2. Obligation to community.
  3. Value in workplace.
  4. Technical proficiency.

Download the independent practice competency assessment documents for:

If you have any questions about competency assessments or applications for migration skills assessment, Chartered or NER please contact us.

Member policies

No publications found.

Use the approval process diagram below with the relevant accreditation management system (AMS) documents in the library to have engineering courses accredited. If you have any questions about using the AMS please contact us. Click the image to enlarge, or download a PDF version.


Accreditation management system

No publications found.