Leaders of the Profession: Western Australia

An introduction to the 2022 Western Australian Division Committee.

The role of the Western Australian Division Committee is to provide leadership and direction consistent with Engineers Australia’s strategic priorities and to communicate, advocate, connect and promote the engineering profession across academia, government, industry and the wider community, and contribute to the best engineering outcomes that the profession can deliver for the benefit of the whole community.


Jodey Brockhurst

Jodey Brockhurst MIEAust CPEng NER
Jodey Brockhurst is a Kamilaroi woman passionate about fostering an inclusive and engaged culture through shared values and collaboration. A Strategy Advisor in the offshore energy sector, Jodey holds a Bachelor of Mechatronics Engineering from the University of Queensland. She has over 10 years’ experience across project management and engineering both locally and internationally. Career and travel have evolved her interest in the areas of social justice, specifically future of work, globalisation, and inclusion. Motivated to increase opportunities and society engagement with STEM and reconciliation, Jodey volunteers with the Engineers Australia National Committee on Mechatronics (Industry 4.0), with local government on reconciliation action and as a tutor for the Adult Migrant Education Program.

Shalini Saldanha
Deputy President
Shalini Saldanha FIEAust CPEng NER

Shalini, Information Systems and Technology (IS&T) Lead for Iron Ore Projects, Performance and Planning at Rio Tinto. She has extensive experience in the Western Australian resources industry in the areas of engineering, operations, maintenance, deploying asset management processes and systems, optimising asset performance and more recently in Information technology in project delivery and business partnering.  Engineering has provided Shalini a diverse and rewarding career and she is passionate to share and inspire undergraduates, young professionals and members of the local community via Engineers Australia.
Kassia Ralston

Deputy President
Kassia Ralston MIEAust
Kassia, Project Manager, METRONET, has had a rewarding early career engineering experience in roles focussed on the delivery of business cases and design for major infrastructure projects including Sydney Metro and METRONET. She sees her role in the project management and planning of major public transport infrastructure projects across Australia as an opportunity to forge more inclusive, sustainable and accessible communities.  Kassia is particularly passionate about making a difference to the attraction and retention of engineering talent in Australia and has recently been appointed to the Engineers Australia Women in Engineering National Committee.

Brian Haggerty Past President
Brian Haggerty FIEAust CPEng NER

As WA Division President of Engineers Australia, Brian is passionately interested in ensuring that current and future engineers have the capability and skills to adapt to a rapidly changing world. Previously VP Innovation Capability at Woodside, Brian has had responsibilities for Woodside’s technology programmes, and LNG developments. He has 10 years’ international experience with Royal Dutch Shell on LNG and gas to liquids developments and was based in UK, Europe and Middle East. Brian is an Adjunct Professor of Engineering at University of Western Australia. He is also the current Chair of Hydrogen Society of Australia.
Jill Formentin Committee member 
Jillian Formentin CPEng EngExec NER

Jillian, Director, Formentin Consulting, is driven by a strong desire for people and organisations to achieve peak performance.  She believes that anything is possible when people’s commitment is harnessed in aligned action to fulfil on a shared vision.  After an early career as a Project Leader, Operations Manager and Principal Engineer of gas supply, distribution and storage facilities, Jillian specialised as a consultant in team performance and risk management in heavy industry. Jillian searches for, designs and facilitates ways people and organisations can use their talents to resolve issues and move closer to achieving goals.
Amanda Committee member
Amanda Pearce MIEAust CPEng NER
Amanda is a Senior Structural Engineer with Aurecon. She was a key member of the structural design team for the iconic RAC Arena (Perth Arena) and has spent time in Christchurch following the Canterbury earthquakes. She has been a Division Committee member since 2017 and champions the division's diversity and inclusion efforts. Amanda was awarded the Young Professional Engineer of the Year (Western Australia) by Engineers Australia in 2016 and was an award winner at the National Association of Women in Construction (NAWIC) Crystal Vision Awards for Excellence, WA Chapter, in 2013. 
Doug Bruce

Committee member
Doug Bruce FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER
Doug, Manager – Project Management, City of Swan, is a pragmatic engineering professional with over 28 years' experience in both the public and private sectors with a passion for doing things smarter and more efficiently. He has a personal commitment to the concept of lifelong learning and a strong passion for local government and its promotion – it has so much to offer engineers at all stages of their career.  As the Manager - Project Management, at the City of Swan, he leads a team of professional engineers, architects, civil designers and landscape architects, delivering the City's $100M (2019/20) capital works program.

Allison Selman

Committee member
Allison Selman FIEAust CPEng NER
As a business and technical manager Allison  brings to the committee her technical expertise in offshore energy asset management. She is passionate about diversity and inclusion, technical and professional excellence, and hopes to contribute to the long-term sustainability of the engineering profession.

Stephen Woodhouse

Committee member
Stephen Woodhouse FIEAust CPEng EngExec NER
Stephen brings to the committee extensive structural design experience spanning 40 years in the industrial, mining, commercial, institutional, and domestic sectors, in Australia and overseas. Stephen was a long serving committee member for the Southwest Regional Group in Bunbury where he proudly helps facilitate The Science and Engineering Challenge in WA.

Kala Senathirajah

Committee member
Kala Senathirajah MIEAust CPEng NER
Kala is an experienced water industry professional who has successfully delivered projects in Australia and abroad. She has expertise encompassing strategic development; asset, risk management,  environmental management, hydrology, water quality and emerging contaminants. Kala is passionate about water and sustainability issues and brings an industry and academic perspective to the committee.

Krishna Lawania

Committee member
Dr Krishna Lawania FIEAust CPEng NER
Krishna is a passionate project management professional and researcher with national and international project experience and research publications. Krishna brings to the committee his expertise in project management, site supervision, construction law, life cycle assessment, life cycle costing, development of Environmental Product Declarations and dispute resolution.

Owen Keenan

Committee member
Owen Keenan MIEAust
Owen is an active volunteer with Engineers Australia being an EngTalk Coordinator and promoting STEM and engineering involvement with schools. He works in the field of bridge structures, with a background in civil construction. Owen will bring his fresh perspective to further the key strategic goals of the committee and advocate for Engineers Australia members.

Robert Mansfield

Committee member
Robert Mansfield AFIEAust CEng NER
Robert is looking forward to offering to the committee his experience as a highly qualified multi-disciplined engineer in international marine, civil, oil and gas, rail and mining engineering. He is strongly committed to safety in the workplace.